The project

01/Édito

The view from Notre Dame in Paris skyline.
The challenge now is to harness Paris’s economic potential to tackle the new imperative of energy transition, accelerating the move towards a green economy and creating a unique attractiveness factor.

In the 21st century, many cities are undergoing profound changes. These cities play a key role in combating climate change, and success depends on their ecological, digital and economic transition. In concrete terms, cities are actively encouraging new consumption patterns and breaking new ground in terms of low-carbon urban mobility, retrofit and new energies. They are also developing holistic digital strategies, all with the aim of achieving a high quality of life. New, more collaborative urban models such as the circular economy and shared finance are emerging and helping to propel cities towards a low-carbon economy.

Paris is very much part of this drive, with a clear goal of becoming a sustainable city, joining other similarly committed densely populated, diverse, mixed-neighbourhood and innovative cities around the world. 2007 saw the introduction of a Climate Action Plan, setting some ambitious targets. Seven years on, Paris is seeing the results of these pledges. Supported by a complete ecosystem of stakeholders working closely together plus highly effective, progressive networks and infrastructure, Paris stands out as a platform for innovation and experimentation, driven by responsible social and political will.

Paris’s economic dynamism is indisputable: it is Europe’s leading economic hub and home to the biggest concentration of Fortune 500 companies and start-ups. The French capital also enjoys a central location at the heart of a market of 500 million inhabitants and offers easy access to Africa and the Middle East. In 2013, Paris was the highest riser in the rankings of the top 10 major cities for foreign direct investment. Contributing to the city’s attractiveness are the elite engineering and business schools and major universities producing top-level talent sought by international policy-makers.

The challenge now is to harness Paris’s economic potential to tackle the new imperative of energy transition, accelerating the move towards a green economy and creating a unique attractiveness factor. To achieve this goal, raising the awareness of French companies and international investors is a major challenge for the Paris metropolitan area.

Let’s work together to spread the message around the world!

Le projet

01/Édito

Faire converger la nouvelle donne de la transition énergétique et le potentiel économique de Paris

Le 21e siècle consacre l’émergence de métropoles en profondes mutations. Elles jouent un rôle majeur dans la lutte contre le changement climatique. Ainsi les territoires en portent les conditions de réussite par les transitions écologiques, numériques, économiques qu’ils mettent en place. Concrètement, les métropoles agissent pour encourager de nouveaux modes de consommation, innover dans la mobilité bas carbone, la rénovation thermique et les nouvelles énergies, concevoir des stratégies numériques globales et ainsi travailler à une haute qualité de vie. De nouveaux modèles urbains plus collaboratifs tels que l’économie circulaire, la finance partagée émergent et accompagnent la dynamique de transformation de la ville vers une économie bas carbone.

Dans cette trajectoire, Paris affirme en particulier son ambition de ville durable, parmi les métropoles mondiales engagées : dense, mixte, diverse, innovante. Adoptant un Plan Climat dès 2007, Paris fixe des objectifs ambitieux pour son territoire et témoigne 7 ans plus tard de la réalité de ses engagements. En s’appuyant sur un écosystème complet maillant étroitement toute la chaine d’acteurs du secteur, et des réseaux et infrastructures performants et évolutifs, Paris souligne sa différence comme territoire d’innovations et d’expérimentation, portée par une volonté partagée, citoyenne et politique.

La dynamique économique de Paris est déjà là : premier pôle économique d’Europe, Paris y regroupe aussi bien la plus forte concentration des grandes entreprises du Fortune 500 que de startups, elle jouit d’une position centrale au cœur d’un marché de 500 millions d’habitants, et offre un accès privilégié vers l’Afrique et le Moyen-Orient. En 2013, Paris connait la meilleure progression dans le top 10 des grandes métropoles destinataires d’investissements directs étrangers. Les grandes écoles et universités parisiennes contribuent largement à l’attractivité de Paris et assurent la formation de talents performants et recherchés par les décideurs internationaux.

L’enjeu est de faire converger la nouvelle donne de la transition énergétique et le potentiel économique de Paris : accélérateur de la green économie et facteur d’attractivité unique. Dans cet esprit, attirer l’attention des entreprises françaises et des investisseurs internationaux constitue un enjeu majeur pour la métropole parisienne.

Ensemble, nous vous proposons de porter ce message à l’international !